Holy Week : Good Friday

Today is Good Friday. This is the Friday before Easter Sunday and on this day Christians commemorate the suffering and death on the cross of Jesus Christ. On the surface ‘Good Friday’ seems a ridiculous name for the day that Christ was crucified.

But let me explain …
I have a millennial print edition of Rembrandt’s etching “Descent from the Cross” hanging in my office (image above). I often stop to marvel at the detail in the etching – each pen stroke carefully placed and meticulously made – with skill and love the picture is completed. With care and love the people in the painting are lowering Christ from the cross to take Him to be buried. The detail and compassion revealed in this etching are the same reasons that this dark day is remembered as good!

God doesn’t miss a detail on this day. While Christ suffered and died on this day, He did so by making a choice to die – to die for all sinners – past, present, and future. For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only son (John 3:16). On this day, every detail is cared for – every prophecy complete. Each detail is lovingly and meticulously cared for until the picture is complete and Christ can declare, “It is finished!

The work is done. My sins forgiven. My life redeemed.

If that isn’t reason to call a day – Good. I don’t if there ever will be a day.

This day is good, but Sunday is coming and it gets even better!

See you Sunday, until then I might take another look at that picture …

Author:

I am a United Methodist Pastor and have the privilege of serving as the Senior Pastor for the church of my childhood. I preach in a place I once was an acolyte. I love to preach, but more importantly I love to teach. I firmly believe that Faith Matters and should affect how we live. This blog is a place where I come to share the randomness that is life and faith ... and the intersection of the two.

Leave a comment