On the way to Sunday – Eating Leftovers … again

Admit it. We have all been there at some point – standing in front of the open refrigerator – staring blankly at all that is before us. We stand waiting for something to jump out and quench our thirst or our fill our hunger. But alas, after a prolonged silence and soft sigh, we shut the door and declare, “There is nothing to eat or drink!”

From our perspective, it is as if this is what we saw:

So here is the interesting thought that struck me last night as I stood in front of my open and full refrigerator and declared, “There is nothing here!”

As foolish as that was, I wondered if that is how I look when I pass the plate at a church and say, “I have nothing to give.”

My life must look pretty full from God’s perspective – for that matter my life must look pretty full compared to must of the people in the world!

And yet, how often have I closed the door on my finances and determined that I have nothing to give.

I need some perspective.  Perhaps I have spent too much time looking at all that I have that it no longer seems like much?  Next time the plate is passed at church or a charity asks for some help … take another look at all that you have and perhaps there is something you have to give.

And please be considerate … God is not looking for your leftovers any more than you are … probably why God asked for your first fruits to begin with!

“As it is also written in the Law, we will bring the firstborn of our sons and of our cattle, of our herds and of our flocks to the house of our God, to the priests ministering there. Moreover, we will bring to the storerooms of the house of our God, to the priests, the first of our ground meal, of our grain offerings, of the fruit of all our trees and of our new wine and olive oil.    Nehemiah 10:36-37 NIV

Gain some perspective at the refrigerator this week and then plan to share with others the abundance you have been so richly blessed with . . .

I’ll be eating some leftovers this week, but I’ll be bringing some first fruits on Sunday!

See you then . . .

Author:

I am a United Methodist Pastor and have the privilege of serving as the Senior Pastor for the church of my childhood. I preach in a place I once was an acolyte. I love to preach, but more importantly I love to teach. I firmly believe that Faith Matters and should affect how we live. This blog is a place where I come to share the randomness that is life and faith ... and the intersection of the two.

One thought on “On the way to Sunday – Eating Leftovers … again

  1. Great conviction about our giving habits—God does not want our left overs—He wants the best or the first fruits! Thank you for sharing God’s Word!
    🙏🙏

    Like

Leave a comment